200 Elgin Street, Suite 601
Ottawa, Ontario K2P 1L5
Tel: (613) 569-1158
Fax: (613) 569-4532

About us.jpg

Alan G. Ross Award


The fmi*igf Journal is an important part of the vision of the fmi*igf and provides a forum for sharing best practices in managing public sector resources. The purpose of this award is to recognize the author of the best article published in the fmi*igf journal each fiscal year.

A_Ross _smaller _1Background

The Alan G. Ross Award for Writing Excellence was created in 1979 for the best article in financial management appearing in the fmi*igf Journal, in recognition of Alan G. Ross, the first president of the modern fmi*igf organization in 1976. Alan G. Ross spent 31 years in the Federal Public Service in various positions including Director, Financial Policy Development, Treasury Board; Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Management, Agriculture Canada; and Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Supply and Services Canada. Alan G. Ross is a federal public servant who made a difference, having spent his career contributing to the enhancement of financial management in the public sector.



The author of any feature column or article published in the fmi*igf Journal during the fiscal year, will be eligible. (Exceptions: current Journal Editor and Assistant Editor)


The article should promote and further the values of the fmi*igf and will be selected in accordance with the following rating criteria (see Appendix for sample rating table):

  • involve sharing of experiences, information and best practices and applicable to more than one segment of the public sector (federal, provincial and/or municipal);
  • address an area or perspective of the current issues, challenges and best practices in public sector resource management;
  • further the development of best practices in public sector resource management (i.e., focus on the application of modern techniques);
  • present original thoughtful, well-researched perspectives on the issue covered; and
  • be written in a professional manner (limited editorial intervention).

Number to be Awarded

One award per year

Details of Award

  • Award recipient selected by September 30 annually;
  • Award Plaque noting "Alan G Ross Award for Writing Excellence" and "fmi*igf Journal", fiscal year, and date of award, presented during PD Week each year;
  • Complimentary registration and reasonable expenses to attend the PD Week; and,
  • Public Recognition, including announcements in fmi*igf Journal, news release, and fmi*igf website.

Award Committee

The award committee will be comprised of five members as follows:

  • the fmi*igf National Past President;
  • two current or former members of the fmi*igf National Board; and,
  • two members of the fmi*igf.

Sample award rating table for Alan G. Ross Award