Alan G. Ross Award

The Alan G. Ross Award for Writing Excellence was created in 1979 for the best article in financial management appearing in the FMI Journal (now FMI e-Journal), in recognition of Ross, the first president of the modern-day FMI in 1976, who spent 31 years in various positions within the federal public service.

Winning articles are reviewed and selected in accordance with the following rating criteria:

  • Involve the sharing of experiences, information and best practices that are applicable to more than one segment of the public sector (federal, provincial and/or municipal).
  • Address an area or perspective on current issues, challenges and best practices in public sector resource management.
  • Present original content.

Award details:

  • Award recipient selected by Sept. 30 annually.
  • Award plaque noting Alan G. Ross Award for Writing Excellence and FMII e-Journal, fiscal year, and date of award; presented during PD Week each year.
  • Complimentary registration and reasonable expenses to attend PD Week.

Submissions to the e-Journal should be sent to